Ask the Official: Boarding Penalty?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A player in a Body Checking category makes no effort to play the puck and instead drives the opponent into the boards with excessive force. Should this be penalized as boarding?

ANSWER: Yes. The purpose of a body check is to separate the opponent from the puck. By accelerating through the check and causing the opponent to be thrown dangerously into the boards, the focus of the check is to punish or intimidate the opponent and must be penalized under the Standard of Play for Body Checking.



Categories: Featured, Hockey Headlines, IHOA, Officials, Rules & Regulations

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: