Ask the Official: Charging Penalty?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A player delivers a check without taking the two fast strides, but instead accelerates through the check and delivers just as much force as if he had taken two fast strides. Could this be considered charging?

ANSWER: Yes. By accelerating through the check and maximizing the force used, the player is no longer simply separating the opponent from the puck and instead is attempting to intimidate or punish the opponent. Under the Body Checking Standard of Play, this must be penalized under the charging rule.



Categories: Ask the Official, Featured, IHOA, Officials, Rules & Regulations

Tags: , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: