Ask the Official: Charging Penalty?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A player leaves his feet and jumps at the last second to deliver a body check. Would this be considered charging?

ANSWER: Yes. Anytime a player jumps in the process of delivering a body check, a charging penalty must be called, even if the contact is still made by the trunk of the body to the trunk of the opponent. The jumping motion provides additional force that is not necessary to deliver a legal body check.



Categories: Ask the Official, Featured, IHOA, Officials, Rules & Regulations

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: