Ask the Official: What criteria should the Referee use when assessing a major plus game misconduct penalty for head contact?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: What criteria should the Referee use when assessing a major plus game misconduct penalty for head contact?

ANSWER: Anytime the Referee deems the contact to the head area to be intentional or a reckless act, a major plus game misconduct penalty or match penalty must be assessed. Intentional would be deemed to be when the player “targets” the head or neck area of the opponent when delivering a check. A reckless act is when the actions of the player delivering the check clearly do not take into consideration the location on the body of the opponent where the contact is being made and uses excessive force in delivering the check to the head or neck area. As with other dangerous actions, a major plus game misconduct or match penalty must be assessed if an injury results from Head Contact.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, Hockey Headlines, IHOA, Officials, Rules & Regulations

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: