Ask the Official: Team ‘A’ Player returns to the ice (minor penalty) prematurely when Team ‘B’ scores. Does the goal count?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: Team ‘A’ Player returns to the ice (minor penalty) prematurely when Team ‘B’ scores. Does the goal count?

ANSWER: In this situation, the Team ‘B’ goal would be allowed. If Player ‘A’ left the penalty bench due to an error by the Timekeeper and the penalty was a minor, then the penalty is terminated. If Player ‘A’ left the penalty bench on his own, he must return to the penalty bench to serve an additional minor penalty for leaving early.



Categories: Ask the Official, Featured

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: