Ask the Official: Offsides

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: If a player is skating into his/her attacking zone backwards with possession of the puck, but his/her skates enter the zone before the puck completely crosses the blue line, is the play deemed offsides?

ANSWER: Rule 630(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states, “A player who is actually in possession and control of the puck prior to entering the attacking zone and precedes the puck into the zone is not considered “off-side.”



Categories: ASK AHAI, featured

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: