Ask the Official: Stoppage of Play?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A goalie makes a play to cover a loose puck in front of the net and a skater makes a play to poke the puck into the net. The goalie covers the puck and the player makes contact right as the goalie covers the puck. Should this be penalized as a slash or since it was almost simultaneous is it just a stoppage? There was no significant force with the poke or violent nature in the player’s motion.

ANSWER: An attacking player may not make contact with the goalkeeper who is positioned in the crease. While the contact may not be malicious, players are not allowed to slash or poke any other opponent and the goalkeeper is not an exception.



Categories: ASK AHAI, Featured

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: