Ask the Official: Replacing a Penalized Player

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: If a player on the penalty bench remains there after the expiration of his penalty (while his team is entitled to return to full strength), may his team place another skater on the ice as long as the originally penalized player remains on the penalty bench?

ANSWER: No. Rule Reference 205(f). A team may replace the penalized player only after he has left the penalty bench by way of the ice and returned to his players’ bench. If he elects to remain on the penalty bench, either by intent or error, the team must continue to skate short-handed until the player returns to the ice. For a violation of this rule, a bench minor penalty must be assessed to the offending team.



Categories: Ask the Official, Featured, IHOA, Officials, Rules & Regulations

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: