Ask the Official: Substituting Players

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: During play, Team A is substituting players while the puck is in front of their bench. A Team A player exits the ice at the center ice side of the bench. Another Team A player at the other end of the bench is about to jump on the ice and reaches over the boards and passes the puck to a teammate already on the ice. Since this player was about to (and did subsequently) jump on the ice, and the player he was substituting for was already off the ice, is this a legal play?

ANSWER: A player may not participate in play while on the team bench. Both feet must be on the ice to be eligible to play the puck. The location of the retiring player in situation is irrelevant.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, Hockey Headlines, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: