Ask the Official: Lifting an Opponent’s Stick

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Rules & Ethics

QUESTION: Can a player lift the opponent’s stick without being penalized under the Standard of Play guidelines?  

ANSWER: Yes. A player may lift the opponent’s stick at any time provided they do not impede their progress. This is most often done in an effort to prevent the opponent from playing the puck and is considered a good defensive play.

Categories: Ask the Official, Featured, IHOA, Officials, Rules & Regulations

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: